Galindo Music


Back to All Events

Premiere of The wind blows where it wills (2017) for trumpet and piano

  • The Broom Tree Theatre at Art House Astoria 23-35 Broadway Astoria, Queens, NY 11106 (map)

RAM Presents: Random Brass

In the second production of the season, the composers of Random Access Music (RAM) present new and recent works for brass instruments.

Guy Barash’s motivation to write Talkback VI for trombone and electronics was deeply rooted in the physicality of the instrument. In Deep Night (in memory of Pauline Oliveros) composer Frances White uses the consonant sounds of human speech to shape the timing of synthetic chords. David Fetherolf’s Hornwork is a 3 movement solo piece which explores the horn’s range in both the senses of tessitura and technique. The Wind Blows Where It Wills is a vocalise for trumpet and piano by composer Gilbert Galindo. Oren Boneh, the winner of RAM’s 2016-17 call-for-scores, explores concepts of individuality and immortality in his work for trombone and electronics, Behind the Forget-me-nots. Composer Gaetano Lorandi, in his … nel tempo degli amori for horn, evokes suffused sound images of moments veiled by melancholy and restlessness, iridescent memories.


Guy Barash: Talkback VI for trombone and electronics (2016)

Frances White: Deep Night for horn, trumpet, and trombone (2016)

David Fetherolf: Hornwork for horn (2017)

Gilbert Galindo: The Wind Blows Where It Wills for trumpet and piano (2017)

Oren Boneh: Behind the Forget-me-nots for trombone and electronics (2016, winner of call-for-scores)

Gaetano Lorandi: ... nel tempo degli amori for horn (2016)


John Gattis, horn; Andy Kozar, trumpet; William Lang, trombone; David Broome, piano

Admission: Free